• Country

Annemiek van Vleuten and Primož Roglič Win Olympic Time Trial Gold Medals

By Monica Buck

The Dutchwoman destroyed the opposition and Primož Roglič dominated in a similar manner.

Van Vleuten smashes the course

After the somewhat disappointing silver in Sunday’s road race, the Dutchwoman showed a stunning performance in the time trial. Annemiek van Vleuten (Netherlands) finished whopping 56 seconds ahead of Marlen Reusser (Switzerland) to take the gold medal. The 38-year-old put on a dominating performance right from the start, powering through the intermediate time checks as the fastest rider. Before the others have even finished, it was quite clear that van Vleuten had won it. Another rider from the Netherlands, Anna van der Breggen, claimed the bronze medal having finished over a minute down.

Tokyo 2020 Olympics – Women’s time trial (22.1.KM)

  1. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) – 30:13:49
  2. Marlen Reusser (Sui) + 56 seconds
  3. Anna van der Breggen (Ned) + 1:01
  4. Grace Brown (Aus) + 1:08
  5. Amber Neben (USA) + 1:12
  6. Lisa Brennauer (Ger) + 1:57
  7. Chloe Dygert (USA) + 2:16
  8. Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) + 2:24
  9. Juliette Labous (Fra) + 2:28
  10. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) + 2:47

The Slovenian won it

Primož Roglič (Slovenia) has suffered a bitter disappointment in this season as well. However, a gold Olympic medal might make up for this year’s Tour de France. He dominated in a similar manner as Annemiek van Vleuten and won by over a minute. The battle for second place was thrilling but, in the end, the silver went to Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands). Rohan Dennis (Australia) won the bronze medal. However, we should note that there wasn’t a very wide margin between second and fifth place. Filippo Ganna and Stefan Küng only just missed out on the medals.

Tokyo 2020 Olympics – Men’s time trial (22.1.KM)

  1. Primož Roglič (Slo) – 55:04
  2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) + 1:01
  3. Rohan Dennis (Aus) + 1:04
  4. Stefan Küng (Switzerland) +1:04
  5. Filippo Ganna (Italy) +1:05
  6.  Wout van Aert (Belgium) +1:40
  7. Kasper Asgreen (Denmark) +1:48
  8. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia) +2:14
  9. Remco Evenepoel (Belgium) +2:17
  10. Patrick Bevin (New Zealand) +2:20