• Country

Wout van Aert and Annemiek van Vleuten Win the Strade Bianche and Other Cool News from the World of Cycling

By Monica Buck

Another Monday is here and our news from the world of cycling with it. So, what did you miss?

Annemiek van Vleuten continues her winning streak

Van Vleuten has won every race she started since the world championships in Yorkshire last September. However, this one was not easy. With 25 km to go, the 37-year-old superstar was trailing nearly 5 minutes on Mavi Garcia. She then launched an incredible attack, catching the leader with 6 km to go. Mavi Garcia was able to hold on to van Vleuten for a while but the steepest section of the final climb got the better of her. And van Vleuten claimed the race for the second time since the inception of the women’s Strade Bianche in 2015.

Women’s Strade Bianche 2020 results

1. Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) – 4:03:54
2. Mavi Garcia (Alé BTC Ljubljana) + 22s
3. Leah Thomas (Equipe Paule Ka) + 1:53
4. Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolmans) + 2:05
5. Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo) + 2:11
6. Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv) + 2:26
7. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) + 2:40
8. Lisa Brennauer (Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling) + 3:26
9. Karol-Ann Canuel (Boels-Dolmans) + 4:20
10. Marta Bastianelli (Alé-BTC Ljubljana) + 5:20

Wout van Aert takes the win

After finishing third on his first two attempts, the Jumbo-Visma rider finally turned the bronze into gold. Unlike Annemiek van Vleuten, van Aert held his place in the front group comfortably until launching an attack with 12 km to go. Davide Formolo and Max Schachmann gave a chase but van Aert climbed the ramp to Siena alone. The 25-year-old raised his hand across the line, winning for the first time since the hard crash at the 2019 Tour de France time trial.

Men’s Strade Bianche 2020 results

1. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) – 4:56:58
2. Davide Formolo (UAE Team Emirates) + 30s
3. Max Schachmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) + 32s
4. Alberto Bettiol (EF Pro Cycling) + 1:31
5. Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) + 2:55
6. Zdenek Štybar (Deceuninck – Quick-step) + 3:59
7. Brent Bookwalter (Mitchelton-Scott) + 4:25
8. Greg Van Avermaet (CCC Team) + 4:27
9. Michael Gogl (NTT Pro Cycling) + 6:47
10. Diego Rosa (Arkéa-Samsic) + 7:45

Take my money

Definitely a compliment