• Country

Daryl Impey Defends Tour Down Under and Other Cool News from the World of Cycling

By Monica Buck

Another Monday is here and our news from the world of cycling with it. So, what did you miss?

Impey triumphs again

The South African champion became the first rider ever to win the Tour Down Under in two consecutive seasons. Impey was losing seven seconds to Patrick Bevin (CCC Team) prior to the final stage. Patrick Bevin, however, was unable to keep pace with the peloton, owing to his injuries from previous stages. The final day of the Australian Tour was claimed by Richie Porte. He won the stage set on Willunga Hill for the sixth time and managed to finish second overall.

GC Results

1. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) – 20:20.42
2. Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) +13s
3. Wout Poels (Team Sky) +17s
4. Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana) +19s
5. Rohan Dennis (Bahrain-Merida) +26s
6. Chris Hamilton (Team Sunweb) +33s
7. Michael Woods (Team Sunweb) +38s
8. Ruben Guerreiro (Katusha-Alpecin) +40s
9. Diego Ulissi (UAE-Team Emirates) +40s
10. Dries Devenyns (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +40s

Matt Hayman, the 2016 Paris-Roubaix winner, said his final goodbye to the fans as he decided to retire after the race.

Let’s get ready to rumble


And the cooldown

Proper cooldown

Last but not least…