• Country

La Vuelta Femenina: 7 Stages, 730-Kilometre Route and a Mountain Finish on the Final Stage

By Monica Buck

The Spanish race will be held between May 1st and 7th. It will take off from the city of Torrevieja near Costa Blanca and end at Lagos de Covadonga. During its seven stages, the race will visit eight provinces in six autonomous communities. The riders will face one team time trial, three flat stages, one mid-mountain stage and two mountain stages – both with high-altitude finales.

“The Costa Blanca will, once again, show its support for cycling and La Vuelta by hosting the Grand Departure of La Vuelta Femenina. The Costa Blanca has become a very attractive destination for cycling lovers, as well as the ideal setting to launch the first edition of La Vuelta Femenina,” said Fernando Escartín, Director of La Vuelta Femenina.

Following the two first days in the Costa Blanca, the peloton will venture into the Province of Albacete for the race’s longest stage, consisting of 148 kilometres, headed towards La Roda. The pros will then continue north, connecting two province capitals, Cuenca and Guadalajara, in a stage that is likely to favour sprinters. The race’s first high-altitude finale will arrive in the fifth stage, with a 5-kilometre climb up to the Mirador de Riaza – a 2nd category climb.

On Saturday, the riders will face harsh climbs up to Fuente de las Baras and Campo el Hayal, both 2nd category climbs. The Grand Finale will take place in Asturias. The Lagos de Covadonga climb, one of La Vuelta’s most mythical ones, will be the culminating point for the first edition of La Vuelta Femenina. We can’t wait for it to start!

La Vuelta Femenina Route

“To end in such a famous location is essential for the race’s media impact as it results in more coverage for the event. I’m glad La Vuelta Femenina by Carrefour.es has chosen such a well-known climb. I’m excited, I know what to expect, it’s a very tough climb. It’s also good that we have some flat stages, as they also help to make the race very exciting. It’s a very complete Vuelta,” said Annemiek van Vleuten, winner of the CERATIZIT Challenge by La Vuelta in 2022.

“I think it’s a varied route, with opportunities for many different riders. It’s true that the general classification will go to the climbers but the team time trial and the flat stages will provide opportunities for the other riders. I think it’ll be a very complete race,” said Mavi García, team trial winner and Spanish Road Cycling Champion.

Stage 1 – Torrevieja – Torrevieja (TTT), 14.6 km

La Vuelta Femenina

Stage 2 – Orihuela – Pilar de la Horadada 105.1 km

La Vuelta Femenina

Stage 3 – Elche de la Sierra – Roda, 148.2 km

La Vuelta Femenina

Stage 4 – Cuenca – Guadalajara, 133.1 Km

La Vuelta Femenina

Stage 5 – La Cabrera – Mirador de Peñas Llanas (Riaza), 129.2 Km

La Vuelta Femenina

Stage 6 – Castro Urdiales – Laredo, 107.7 Km

La Vuelta Femenina

Stage 7 – Pola de Siero – Lagos de Covadonga, 93.7 Km

La Vuelta Femenina