• Country

Sonny Colbrelli and Ellen van Dijk Win the European Road Race and Other Cool News from the World of Cycling

By Monica Buck

Another Monday is here, and so is our news from the world of cycling. So, what did you miss?

Ellen van Dijk defies the odds

The Dutchwoman instigated a late breakaway on the hilly course in Trento, Italy, and with 10 km to go, she went solo. Van Dijk then managed to hold onto her lead despite an elite chasing group behind her, which included the likes of Annemiek van Vleuten, Demi Vollering, Katarzyna Niewiadoma and more. At one point, her advantage was knocked down to 22 seconds. However, with 200 metres left, it went back up to a full minute. Ellen van Dijk could properly enjoy her moment as she crossed the finishing line. Liane Lippert (Germany) took the silver and Rasa Leleivytė (Lithuania) claimed the bronze.


European’s Championships 2021: Elite Women’s Road Race results

  1. Ellen van Dijk (Netherlands) – 2:50:35
  2. Liane Lippert (Germany) + 1:18
  3. Rasa Leleivytė (Lithuania)
  4. Katatzyna Niewiadom (Poland)
  5. Demi Vollering (Netherlands)
  6. Marta Cavalli (Italy)
  7. Marlen Reusser (Switzerland)
  8. Alena Amialiusuk (Belarus)
  9. Annemiek van Vleuten (Netherlands) + 1:21
  10. Elisa Balsamo (Italy) + 2:28

Colbrelli wins it


Sonny Colbrelli managed to bridge a late attack by Remco Evenopoel and then spectacularly kept pace with him in the hillier section of the course around Trento. Then he outsprinted the Belgian and scored the most significant triumph of his career. Remco Evenopoel was visibly disappointed and not content with the silver medal after a stunning performance from his side. Benoît Cosnefroy was much happier when he crossed the line to claim the bronze. It should be noted that since 2016 when the race was opened to professionals, Italy have claimed four wins with four different riders.

European’s Championships 2021: Elite Men’s Road Race results

  1. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) – 4:19:45
  2. Remco Evenepoel (Bel)
  3. Benoît Cosnefroy (Fra) + 1:30
  4. Matteo Trentin (Ita) + 1:43
  5. Tadej Pogačar (Slo)
  6. Marc Hirschi (Swi)
  7. Markus Hoelgaard (Nor)
  8. Ben Hermans (Bel) + 1:45
  9. Pavel Sivakov (Rus) + 1:49
  10. Victor Campenaerts (Bel) + 5:41

Sounds good