• Country

Wout van Aert Wins at Ghent-Wevelgem and Other Cool News from the World of Cycling

By Monica Buck

Another Monday is here, and so is our news from the world of cycling. So, what did you miss?

The Belgian bounces back

Wout van Aert has won another prestigious one-day classic, his first of 2021. After two victories at Tirreno-Adriatico, the Belgian finished third at Milan—San Remo and then placed out of the top 10 at the E3 Saxo Bank Classic. But on Sunday he managed to join the front group in windy conditions and eventually came out the strongest. He beat the likes of Giacomo Nizzolo (Qhubeka-ASSOS), Matteo Trentin (UAE Team Emirates) and Michael Matthews (BikeExchange). Sam Bennett was the only one from Deceuninck—Quick-Step to make the front group, but was dropped before the final sprint.

Another win for Wout van Aert. © Profimedia

Ghent-Wevelgem 2021 results

  1. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma)
  2. Giacomo Nizzolo (Qhubeka-ASSOS)
  3. Matteo Trentin (UAE Team Emirates)
  4. Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Victorious)
  5. Michael Matthews (BikeExchange)
  6. Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ)
  7. Nathan Van Hooydonck (Jumbo-Visma)
  8. Dylan van Baarle (Ineos Grenadiers)
  9. Anthony Turgis (Total Direct Energie)
  10. Gianni Vermeersch (Alpecin-Fenix)

Marianne Vos wins for Jumbo Visma

The women’s edition of Ghent Wevelgem was certainly exciting. A number of moves were made after a split on the Kemmelberg, the last of seven climbs. With 15km to go, Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo) and Soraya Paladin rode off the front of a group of seven. It looked like they had done it but were caught just 300 metres before the finish line. It was Marianne Vos who proved to be the strongest in the sprint and claimed the victory.

Marianne Vos
Dutch Marianne Vos celebrates as she crosses the finish line to win the women’s edition of the Gent-Wevelgem. © Profimedia

Ghent Wevelgem Women 2021

  1. Marianne Vos (Jumbo Visma) – 3:45:08
  2. Lotte Kopecky (Liv Racing)
  3. Lisa Brennauer (Ceratizit WNT)
  4. Elisa Balsamo (Valcar Travel and Service)
  5. Marta Bastianelli (Alé-BTC Ljubljana)
  6. Emilia Fahlin (FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope)
  7. Kristen Faulkner (Tibco SVB)
  8. Sarah Roy (BikeExchange)
  9. Emma Norsgaard (Movistar)
  10. Lauren Stephens (Tibco SVB)


How dare you

True story

It really is easier