• Country

The Pyrenees Are Coming: What Should We Expect?

By Monica Buck

The chaos of crosswinds during stage 10 put Team Ineos in second and third place and it looks like it’s only a matter of time till Thomas and Bernal surpass Alaphilippe. They can sit tight and wait for the others to attack. There’s no place to hide now. Will the other GC hopefuls have the stamina, though? And will they have the courage?

We’ve seen Bardet attack on stage 9 and how Ineos tamed him easily. The Frenchman is now 2:08 down on Thomas and should go into a full aggressive mode. Thibaut Pinot seems to be on a better form this year. However, he lost 1:40 in the crosswinds and will have to battle hard as well to get back to contention.

Bardet during the 9th stage, Saint Etienne – Brioude 170 km. © Profimedia, AFP

I’m confident, still,” Pinot said. “There are three big days in a row, there’s the time trial, the Tourmalet and the stage to Foix. Those are three stages where a lot can happen. We know the Tourmalet, it’s a summit finish, it will hurt.”

The stage on Thursday features Col de Peyresourde and Hourquette d’Ancizan, both category-one climbs. The 30-km descent could wreak havoc as well. Then the summit finishes on Tourmalet on Saturday followed by Prat D’Albis on Sunday, which could change anything that happened in the whole course of the race. Exciting days ahead of us, indeed.

© Profimedia, MAXPPP

Sounds like an ideal ground for Nairo Quintana? Our Škoda ambassador Andy Schleck had this to say about him: “He did so very well yesterday, didn’t lose any time and I really think he’s here to win the Tour, not to finish second.”

What do you think? Who do you favour to come out of the Pyrenees wearing yellow? Let us know!

General classification after stage 10

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) – 43:27:15
2. Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos) + 1:12
3. Egan Bernal (Team Ineos) + 1:16
4. Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma) + 1:27
5. Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) + 1:45
6. Enric Mas (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) + 1:46
7. Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) + 1:47
8. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) + 2:04
9. Dan Martin (UAE Team Emirates) + 2:09
10. Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo) + 2:32