• Country

Primož Roglič Wins Liège-Bastogne-Liège and Other Cool News from the World of Cycling

By Monica Buck

Another Monday is here and our news from the world of cycling with it. So, what did you miss?

Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2020

What an end to this year’s edition of Liège-Bastogne-Liège it was. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) attacked near the summit of the Côte de la Roche-aux-Faucons. He took Marc Hirschi (Sunweb), Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) and Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) with him. The quartet worked well together and kept the chasers led by Mathieu van der Poel at bay till the last kilometre of the race.

Julian Alaphilippe
Roglič wins Liège-Bastogne-Liège . © Profimedia

Matej Mohorič (Bahrain-McLaren) managed to catch up to the group and led out the sprint. Alaphilippe went past him and then made a defensive move to keep Hirschi and Pogačar at arm’s length. With those behind him, Alaphilippe thought it was done and started to celebrate. However, Primož Roglič kept pedalling and threw his bike to the line to win it. It is the Slovenian’s first-ever Monument victory. Julian Alaphilippe was later relegated to fifth place for the dangerous move during the sprint.

Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2020 results

1. Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) – 6:32:02
2. Marc Hirschi (Sunweb)
3. Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates)
4. Matej Mohorič (Bahrain-McLaren)
5. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck – Quick-Step)
6. Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) + 14s
7. Michael Woods (EF Pro Cycling)
8. Tiesj Benoot (Sunweb)
9. Warren Barguil (Arkéa-Samsic)
10. Michał Kwiatkowski (Ineos Grenadiers)

Meanwhile at the Giro

It came as no surprise that the time-trial world champion was the best in the opening ITT stage of this year’s Giro d’Italia. However, it must have been very sweet for Filippo Ganna to claim the victory on the very first day he spent at the Italian Grand Tour. Diego Ulissi outsprinted Peter Sagan in the second stage to claim the victory but Filippo Ganna managed to keep the pink jersey. How long will he last? His teammate, Geraint Thomas, sits in third, trailing just 23 seconds.

2020 Giro
Who will wear the pink jersey? © Profimedia

General classification after stage 2

1. Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers) – 3:40:27
2. Joâo Almeida (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) + 22s
3. Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) + 23s
4. Tobias Foss (Jumbo-Visma) + 31s
5. Josef Černý (CCC Team) + 36s
6. Matteo Sobrero (NTT Pro Cycling) + 40s
7. Jan Tratnik (Bahrain-McLaren) + 42s
8. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) + 49s
9. Tanel Kangert (EF Pro Cycling)
10. Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates) + 54s

Proper aero


Pretty accurate