• Country

Vingegaard on Winning the Tour: ‘It’s been a long journey but it also went by so fast’

By Monica Buck

For the second consecutive year, Danish cyclist Jonas Vingegaard emerged victorious as the overall champion in the Tour de France.

The highlight of the Danish cyclist’s race came on stage 16, with an unforgettable performance in the time trial. This, along with his relentless showing on the Col de la Loze, marked Vingegaard’s territory in this Tour de France edition, distinguishing him as a formidable contender. In the end, he ascended the final podium 7:29 ahead of Pogačar of UAE Team Emirates, with Pogačar’s teammate, Yates, finishing third at 10:56 behind.

In reflecting on his victory, Vingegaard was filled with pride and gratitude. “It’s really amazing,” he said, “I have to say thanks not only to my team and family but to the whole of Denmark. They support me and I’m really grateful for this.” He also acknowledged the challenge presented by Pogačar, stating, “It’s been a super hard race and a super good fight between me and Tadej. I enjoyed it all the way. It’s been a long journey but it also went by so fast. We race every day and one day takes the other.”

The closing stage of the tour also saw the debut Tour de France stage victory of Jordi Meeus from Bora-Hansgrohe. Following a frantic sprint on the Champs-Elysées, Meeus narrowly defeated Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck) and Dylan Groenewegen (Jayco-AlUla) to secure his first Tour de France stage win.

In other awards, the young rider’s classification saw Pogačar collect the white jersey for the third year in a row, and Giulio Ciccone (Lidl-Trek) claimed the polka-dot jersey, leading Felix Gall (AG2R Citroen) by 14 points for the climber’s award. The Škoda Green Jersey for the points leader went to Philipsen, with Jumbo-Visma winning the team competition. The super-combativity award was bestowed upon Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Dstny) for his dynamic performance throughout the Tour.

Vingegaard’s stunning Tour de France victory solidifies his standing as a force to be reckoned with in professional cycling. His successive titles demonstrate the resilience, determination, and extraordinary talent he brings to the sport.

Final general classification

  1. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) 82:05:42
  2. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) + 07:29
  3. Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates) + 10:56
  4. Simon Yates (Team Jayco-AlUla) + 12:23
  5. Carlos Rodriguez (INEOS Grenadiers) + 13:17
  6. Pello Bilbao (Bahrain Victorious) + 13:27
  7. Jai Hindley (BORA-hansgrohe) + 14:44
  8. Felix Gall (AG2R Citroën Team) + 16:09
  9. David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ) + 23:08
  10. Guillaume Martin (Cofidis) + 26:30