Mathieu van der Poel Wins Antwerp Cyclo-cross World Cup: “I am pretty happy with today”

By Monica Buck

The season’s first event where Mathieu van der Poel, Wout van Aert and Tom Pidcock went head to head ended in a comfortable win for van der Poel.

Van Aert was off to a good start but van der Poel went clear during the second lap and never looked back. In the end, he won by 23 seconds. Tom Pidcock finished eighth after a disappointing start.

When asked after the race if he made any mistake, Van der Poel laughed: “Not that I can recall, so that’s a good thing. I felt good, I was able to get a good gap, maintain it and I am pretty happy with today.

“I need to be better in the future as Wout will be getting better,” van der Poel added. “There will be a few really nice races in the busy [Christmas] period.”

“When Mathieu was attacking he was way too fast, so I understood that I should focus on the second place,” Wout van Aert said.

“I feel way better than I expected to before. My pace during the race was quite steady, which was a good thing and from this, we will try to build up, get the accelerations in. It’s a super starting point for me.”

Mathieu van der Poel
Van der Poel in action. © Profimedia

Will Wout van Aert catch up to van der Poel’s form? What do you think?

Cyclocross World Cup Antwerp 2022 results

1. Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuninck) – 59:04
2. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) + 23 seconds
3. Michael Vanthourenhout (Pauwels Sauzen Bingoal) + 34 seconds
4. Laurens Sweeck (Crelan-Fristads) + 45 seconds
5. Lars van der Haar (Baloise Trek Lions) + 54 seconds
6. Eli Iserbyt (Pauwels Sauzen Bingoal) + 1:05
7. Jens Adams (Hollebeekhoeve CT) + 1:09
8. Tom Pidcock (Ineos Grenadiers) + 1:14
9. Niels Vandeputte (Alpecin-Deceuninck) + 1:45
10. Joran Wyseure (Crelan-Fristads) + 2:05