Evenepoel and Van Vleuten Win Liège-Bastogne-Liège and Other Cool News from the World of Cycling

By Monica Buck

Another Monday is here, and so is our news from the world of cycling. So, what did you miss?

The Belgian does it

Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) won Liège-Bastogne-Liège with a solo victory after attacking with 29 km to go. It was the first Monument victory for the 22-year-old and also the first time since 2011 for a home rider to win La Doyenne. It was an all-Belgium podium with Quinten Hermans (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux) finishing second and Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) taking third.

“It was really hard with the headwind, it was really difficult to keep pushing,” Evenepoel said after the race. “But I know that everybody was suffering already the whole day; it’s been quite a hard day and a long day as well.“

“I think today was my best day on the bike, maybe ever, so the perfect day to have the best day on the bike, I guess.”

The win for Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl was all the more poignant after Julian Alaphilippe was caught in a nasty crash and had to be taken to a hospital. We wish the French champ the very best and a fast recovery.

Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2022 Results (257.2KM)

  1. Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) – 6:12:38
  2. Quinten Hermans (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux) + 48 seconds
  3. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma)
  4. Daniel Martinez (Ineos Grenadiers)
  5. Sergio Higuita (BORA-Hansgrohe)
  6. Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Victorious)
  7. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)
  8. Neilson Powless (EF Education-EasyPost)
  9. Marc Hirschi (UAE Team Emirates)
  10. Michael Woods (Israel-Premier Tech)

Van Vleuten’s solo

Annemiek van Vleuten
Van Vleuten did it again. © Profimedia

The 39-year-old attacked repeatedly and finally went clear on the last classified climb. She rode solo for the final 10 km to claim a stunning victory. A group of five chasers worked well together but despite the effort, they were unable to catch her.

“Winning has become harder in women’s cycling,” Annemiek Van Vleuten said after the race. “I think there are more contenders, I know that I’m better than ever in the spring but it’s not that it always gives you the win.”

Liège-Bastogne-Liège Femmes 2022 Results (142.1KM)

  1. Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar) – 3:52:32
  2. Grace Brown (FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) + 43 seconds
  3. Demi Vollering (SD Worx)
  4. Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (SD Worx)
  5. Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo)
  6. Marta Cavalli (FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) + 47 seconds
  7. Arlenis Sierra (Movistar) + 1:58
  8. Liane Lippert (Team DSM)
  9. Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon-SRAM)
  10. Amanda Spratt (BikeExchange-Jayco)

What do we have here?


It‘s Remco time

This is awesome

Stay on the safe side