Kopecky and van der Poel Win Tour of Flanders and Other Cool News from the World of Cycling

By Monica Buck

Another Monday is here, and so is our news from the world of cycling. So, what did you miss?

The Dutchman does it again

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) won his second Tour of Flanders on Sunday, beating Dylan van Baarle (Ineos Grenadiers) and Valentin Madouas (Grouoama-FDJ) in a dramatic final sprint. The 27-year-old won the sprint after going clear with Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) on the final ascent of the Oude Kwaremont. Madouas and van Baarle rejoined the leaders on the final straight and edged Pogačar off the podium.

  1. Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) – 6:18:30
    2. Dylan van Baarle (Ineos Grenadiers)
    3. Valentin Madouas (Groupama-FDJ)
    4. Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates)
    5. Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) + 2 seconds
    6. Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Victorious)
    7. Fred Wright (Bahrain-Victorious) + 11 seconds
    8. Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) + 48 seconds
    9. Christophe Laporte (Jumbo-Visma)
    10. Alexander Kristoff (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux)

Kopecky wins it

Lotte Kopecky (SD Worx) became only the second Belgian woman to win her home race of Flanders. Repeating her Strade Bianche success just a month ago, Kopecky out-sprinted Annemiek van Vleuten to win the race. Her team put out a commanding performance throughout the race. Three out of the six-woman leading group were from SD Worx and they played their cards right.

  1. Lotte Kopecky (SDWorx) – 4:11:21
  2. Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar)
  3. Chantal van den Broek-Blaak (SDWorx) + 2 seconds
  4. Arlenis Sierra (Movistar) + 40 seconds
  5. Marlen Reusser (SDworx)
  6. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope)
  7. Grace Brown (FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope)
  8. Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon-SRAM) all at same time
  9. Brodie Chapman (FDJ-Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) + 42 seconds
  10. Marta Bastianelli (UAE Team ADQ) + 1:10

Well earned

Making history


Repeat, please!